Arbor Update

Ann Arbor Area Community News

Local Election Results

3. November 2004 • Murph
Email this article

Let’s just not think about the national race, shall we? Here are results from the Washtenaw County Clerk’s website and Michigan Secretary of State’s website, with 100% of precincts counted.

US Representative: Joe Schwarz (R-7th) and John Dingell (D-15th) won easily, as expected.

State Representative: Pam Byrnes (D-52nd), Chris Kolb (D-53rd), Alma Wheeler Smith (D-54th), and Kathy Angerer (D-55th) won, a sweep of the seats representing Washtenaw. Byrnes is somewhat of a surprise, as she was fighting against Joe Yekulis for the section of western Washtenaw that Yekulis has represented on the County Commission for the past decade.

County Prosecutor: Mackie, with 63.66%

County Clerk: Larry Kestenbaum, with 51.71%

County Commission: 3 Republican, 7 Democratic Commissioners.

Ann Arbor Mayor: John Hieftje, with 68.65%

Ann Arbor City Council, 3rd Ward: Jean Carlberg, with 84.89%

Ypsilanti City Council: Richardson, Gawlas, and Filipiak, all Democrats, win.